<< Previous thread | Next thread >>
Advanced Zombie Scripting
Moderators: smithster, dcslim
Author Post
bundabrg
Sat Dec 13 2008, 02:05PM
Registered Member #276
Hi All,

After messing around in Radiant for a while, I've decided I simply don't have the patience to sit down and tweak a 31x31 patch vertice by vertice. I'll create my map using nice boring boxes and we'll call it a city scape.
However, I am by profession as well as by hobby a coder, so I've been pulling apart the gsc code, and in particular the Zombie Code. I'd like to start a thread on the discussion of the code. I wonder just how many people have looked through the code yet?

So far, those who have managed to use the modtools to build a semi stable zombie map, you are probably starting to hit some of the limitations of the exiting code. Firstly, I do have to give props to the original authors. They did have to write this under extreme time constraints, and thus wrote it mainly for the nazi_zombie_prototype level (the standard one in the game). Also simple means that there are less bugs! I think there is plenty of room for improvement and I believe we as the community can add to the existing code.

I think IMHO that the zombie mode sold COD5. Ok, there are a bunch of things that have been improved in the engine (and we'll quietly ignore the whole fiasco of the modtools... wait a month, and a patch, and it'll all just be a distant memory) but the average user is not going to realise this and either bought the game based on their experience with COD4 (or older), or got sold on the zombie idea, which after the first 100 games in a 3 room map where you never buy anything but the random gun, gets boring. However I've seen some of your maps in progress and I tell you, playing TD in a FPS will make this game live on!